Doris Salcedo receives first Possehl Prize for International Art Art

In her objects, sculptures and site-specific installations, the internationally celebrated artist Doris Salcedo (*1958) deals with the effects of violence and exclusion in her home country, Colombia, and other regions of the world. In the words of the international jury members, “Salcedo finds poetic images for systems of political authority, racism and systematic inequality”, and her work “is of the greatest relevance to our present day.” Twelve artists – seven women and five men – from nine countries were nominated to take part in the competition by a panel of international art experts. Salcedo’s first solo exhibition in Germany was held in the Kunsthalle St. Annen in Lübeck from 7 September to 3 November 2019. The prize-giving ceremony was combined with the opening of the exhibition on 7 September. The prize is worth €25,000.

Fragile art, lest we forget

Istanbul, 2003

Salcedo’s work starts where others turn away. In her sculptures and installations she examines with great sensitivity the tragic results of violence as a consequence of political and economic dominance, leading observers to the emotional plane of the victims and their relatives. The armed conflict that racked her home country Colombia for fifty years is the starting point for many of Salcedo’s projects. In “La Casa Viuda” (1992-1995) she manipulates familiar household objects, such as pieces of furniture or clothing, and creates a space to mourn for loved ones and a lost homeland. At the 8th Istanbul Biennale in 2003 she piled up 1,500 used chairs in a narrow space between two houses, situated in a district formerly inhabited by members of the Greek and Jewish minorities. In “Shibboleth” (Tate Modern, London, 2007), she looked at how Europe deals with migrants, challenging the mechanisms of segregation and exclusion employed by the “first world” with a long, deep crack in the concrete floor of the turbine hall. Works like “A Flor de Piel” (2011-2012), a vast cloth made of rose petals, carefully conserved and stitched together, or “Plegaria Muda” (2008-2010), wooden tables stacked in pairs, from which fine blades of grass emerge, evoke strength, beauty and the fragility of life, and at the same time commemorate the sad fates of individual people.

Salcedo’s work is all-embracing and precise, not only in an artistic sense, but also in terms of how she puts her projects into practice; involving the victims of violence in the production of her works and thus giving them a voice. The artist lives in Bogotá, where she recently created an “anti-monument” from some of the 13,000 weapons handed in by the FARC rebels as part of a peace treaty. They were melted down and made into floor tiles for a new museum in the city centre, which will provide a place of reflection on the decades of violent conflict in Colombia.

Kunsthalle St. Annen was the first museum in Germany to take a comprehensive look at the artist’s work:

"Tabula Rasa I-IV" (2018)

"Thou-less" (2001-2002)

"Plegaria Muda" (2008-2010)

A Flor de Piel II" (2013-2014)

"Disremembered IX" (2017)

Further information is available here:

Press Release Possehl Prize for International Art - "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Nota de prensa Premio Internacional de Arte Possehl - "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Doris Salcedo erhält den ersten Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst

Die kolumbianische Künstlerin Doris Salcedo erhält den ersten Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst

Doris Salcedo

Die international renommierte Künstlerin Doris Salcedo (*1958) beschäftigt sich in Objekten, Skulpturen und großen ortsspezifischen Installationen mit den Auswirkungen von Gewalt und Ausgrenzung in ihrer Heimat Kolumbien und anderen Regionen der Welt. Salcedo findet, so die international besetzte Jury, „für politische Herrschaftssysteme, Rassismus und systematische Ungleichbehandlungen poetische Bilder“, und ihr Werk sei „von höchster Relevanz für unsere Gegenwart.“ Sieben Künstlerinnen und fünf Künstler aus neun Nationen waren im Vorfeld von einem ebenfalls international besetzten Vorschlagsgremium nominiert worden. Die erste Einzelausstellung Salcedos in Deutschland wird vom 7. September bis 3. November 2019 in der Kunsthalle St. Annen in Lübeck zu sehen sein. Die Preisübergabe findet mit der Eröffnung am 7. September statt, der Preis ist mit 25.000,- Euro dotiert.

Fragile Kunst gegen das Vergessen

Istanbul, 2003

Wo Andere sich abwenden, beginnt Salcedos Arbeit: Mit großer Sensibilität thematisiert sie in ihren Skulpturen und Installationen die tragischen Folgen von Gewalt als Konsequenz politischer und ökonomischer Herrschaftsansprüche und führt dabei den Betrachter auf die emotionale Ebene der Opfer und ihrer Angehörigen. Der seit fünf Jahrzehnten währende, bürgerkriegsähnliche Konflikt in ihrer Heimat Kolumbien ist Ausgangspunkt zahlreicher Projekte Salcedos, so verfremdet sie in „La Casa Viuda“ (1992-1995) Vertrautes aus dem häuslichen Alltag (wie Möbel oder Kleidungstücke) und schafft der Trauer um geliebte Menschen sowie um den Verlust der Heimat einen Raum. Auf der 8. Biennale in Istanbul (2003) stapelt sie, in einem einst von Angehörigen der griechischen und jüdischen Minderheit bewohnten Stadtviertel, 1.500 gebrauchte Stühle in einem engen Spalt zwischen zwei Häusern. Den Umgang Europas mit MigrantInnen nimmt sie 2007 in „Shibboleth“ (Tate Modern, London) in den Blick und hinterfragt mit einem langen und tiefen Riss im Betonboden der Turbinenhalle die Abschottungs- und Ausgrenzungsmechanismen der sogenannten ,ersten Welt'. Werke wie „A Flor de Piel“ (2011-2012), ein großes Tuch aus konservierten und filigran miteinander vernähten Rosenblättern, und „Plegaria Muda“ (2008-2010), übereinander gestapelte Holztische, aus denen feine Grashalme wachsen, rufen Stärke, Schönheit und Fragilität des Lebens in den Sinn und erinnern zugleich an die traurigen Schicksale einzelner Menschen.

Salcedo arbeitet nicht nur in künstlerischer Hinsicht äußerst umfassend und präzise, sondern auch im Hinblick auf die praktische Umsetzung ihrer Projekte, so bindet sie z.B. Opfer von Gewalt in die Erstellung ihrer Werke ein und verleiht ihnen dadurch eine Stimme. Die Künstlerin lebt in Bogotá, wo sie zuletzt ein „Anti-Monument“ aus einem Teil der rund 7.000 von den FARC-Rebellen abgegebenen Waffen erschaffen hat. Eingeschmolzen und bearbeitet werden diese als Bodenplatten für ein neues Museum im Zentrum der Stadt dienen, als Ort der Reflexion der langen Jahre gewalttätiger Konflikte in Kolumbien.

Ab dem 7. September gibt die Kunsthalle St. Annen mit der Ausstellung "Tabula Rasa" einen Einblick in die Arbeit der Künstlerin. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier:

Pressemitteilung Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst - "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Pressefotos "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Press release Possehl Prize for International Art - "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Nota de prensa Premio Internacional de Arte Possehl - "Doris Salcedo - Tabula Rasa" [PDF]

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und ab Mai die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren