Theatre puppets in Kolk & Hansemuseum

KOLK 17. Puppet Theatre & Museum of Theatre Puppets

In the heart of Lübeck’s old town, two cultural treasures are housed in historic surroundings: KOLK 17. Puppet Theatre & Museum of Theatre Puppets brings the fascinating world of puppetry to life. The museum preserves a unique collection of theatre puppets, props, stage sets and posters, as well as musical instruments, from Asia, Africa and Europe.

In the theatre visitors can experience all the many versions of modern puppetry (marionettes, table and rod puppets, shadow theatre and animated films).

Theaterfiguren im Kolk & Hansemuseum

The Possehl Foundation has decided to renovate and restore the buildings in Kolk. A competition jury voted unanimously to give the first prize to the firm of architects Konermann + Siegmund. Their design takes the specificities of the listed buildings into account and proposes a radical solution: the house at Kolk 20/22 is to become a museum, and Kolk 14-18 will get an extension and be used for the theatre.

More information can be found at:

www.figurentheater-luebeck.de

www.theaterfigurenmuseum.de


 European Hansemuseum

In the northern part of Lübeck’s old town is the European Hansemuseum, which was opened on 27 May 2015 by the federal chancellor Angela Merkel. Visitors to the museum are shown an informative and fascinating portrayal of one the biggest trading networks of all time. Its combination of staged historical scenes, cabinets with valuable original objects and a walk through the archaeological excavations carried out on the site make it a museum visit for everyone. Visitors will discover daring and triumph, a world of riches and power, failure and struggle, deadly dangers and the all-pervasive influence of religion. The myths and legends that began to circulate after the decline of the Hanse are also examined.

European HansemuseumEuropean Hansemuseum

With a newly opened archaeological excavation site, which provides information about the earliest colonisation of Lübeck, alongside the fully restored Castle Friary, the Hansemuseum is also able to present remarkable new aspects of urban development and cultural history.

The European Hansemuseum is not only popular with the general public; it has also won praise in professional circles: Andreas Heller Architects & Designers were awarded the DAM Prize 2017 for Architecture and the BDA Prize Schleswig-Holstein 2019 for their work on the museum.

More information can be found at:

www.hansemuseum.eu

Das Hansemuseum bei Facebook

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Theaterfiguren im Kolk & Hansemuseum

TheaterFigurenMuseum Lübeck und Figurentheater Lübeck

Mitten in der Lübecker Altstadt befinden sich in historischen Gemäuern zwei Kulturschätze:
Im TheaterFigurenMuseum und im Figurentheater wird die faszinierende Welt des Puppenspiels lebendig. Das Museum bewahrt eine einzigartige Sammlung von Theaterfiguren, Requisiten, Kulissen und Plakaten sowie Musikinstrumenten von den Kontinenten Asien, Afrika und Europa.
Im Theater können alle Spielarten des modernen Figurentheaters (Marionetten, Tisch- und Stabfiguren, Schattentheater und Trickfilm) erlebt werden. 

Die Possehl-Stiftung hat beschlossen, das Gebäudeensemble im Kolk zu sanieren. Ein Preisgericht hat den ersten Preis einstimmig an das Büro Konermann + Siegmund Architekten vergeben. Der Entwurf verfolgt unter weitgehender Berücksichtigung denkmalpflegerischer Auflagen eine radikale Lösung: Der Gebäudekomplex Kolk 20/22 wird zum Museum, Kolk 14-18 mit einem neuen Eckgebäude zum Theater.

Weitere Informationen unter:

www.figurentheater-luebeck.de

www.theaterfigurenmuseum.de

 

Europäisches Hansemuseum

Im nördlichen Teil der Lübecker Altstadt befindet sich das Europäische Hansemuseum, das am 27. Mai 2015 durch Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel eröffnet wurde. Den Besuchern und Besucherinnen vermittelt das Museum ein informatives sowie faszinierendes Bild von einem der größten Handelsnetzwerke aller Zeiten. Durch das Zusammenspiel von beeindruckenden Rauminszenierungen, Kabinetten mit wertvollen Originalobjekten und einer neu erschlossenen archäologischen Grabungsstätte ist es ein Museumsbesuch nach Maß. Die Besucherinnen und Besucher erfahren von Wagnis und Aufstieg, von einer Welt in Reichtum und Macht, von Misserfolg und Kampf sowie von Todesgefahren und den alles Handeln bestimmenden Glauben. Auch die nach dem Niedergang der Hanse einsetzenden Mythen- und Legendenbildungen werden thematisiert. 

Europäisches Hansemuseum © Werner HuthmacherMit einer neu erschlossenen archäologischen Grabungsstätte, die Auskunft über die früheste Besiedlung Lübecks gibt, und dem aufwendig restaurierten Burgkloster vermag das Hansemuseum zudem neue, herausragende Aspekte der Stadtentwicklungs- und Kulturgeschichte zu präsentieren.

Nicht nur beim Publikum erfreut sich das Europäische Hansemuseum einer hohen Beliebtheit, Anerkennung kommt auch aus fachlichen Kreisen: Andreas Heller Architects & Designers wurden für das Museum mit dem renommierten DAM Preis 2017 für Architektur ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Informationen unter:

www.hansemuseum.eu

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und ab Mai die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren