Possehl Prizes for Art

Since 2018 two new Possehl Art Prizes have focused on contemporary art and artists: The Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art was awarded for the first time two years ago and starting in 2019 the Foundation will award the Possehl Prize for International Art every three years. In the years in which there is no Possehl Prize for International Art, the Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art will be awarded to a local artist. The winners of both art prizes are chosen by the same jury, which is made up representatives of internationally renowned art galleries and museums.

Jury members (2020-2023):

  • Adam Budak (Kestner Gesellschaft Hanover, Director)
  • Fanni Fetzer (Lucerne Art Museum, Director)
  • Dr Renate Wiehager (Daimler Art Collection, Berlin/Stuttgart, Director)
  • Dr Antje-Britt Mählmann (Museum Schloss Moyland, Artistic Director)
  • Dr Oliver Zybok (Overbeck-Gesellschaft, Director)
  • Max Schön (Possehl-Stiftung, Chair; jury member without voting rights)
  • Prof. Dr Hans Wißkirchen (Kulturstiftung der Hansestadt Lübeck, Director; jury member without voting rights)

International artists in Lübeck

With the Possehl Prize for International Art the Possehl Foundation recognises living artists with a national and international reputation for their life’s work or an outstanding piece or body of work. Inaugurated in 2019, it is awarded every three years. The jury selects a winner from twelve candidates proposed by an international panel of experts. In their deliberations the jury members are looking for exceptional artistic curiosity, dedication and a continuous achievement over at least a decade, which are deserving of particular recognition. The prize is awarded on the basis of nominations in the categories of sculpture, installation, new media and performance, as well as art intervention. Intermedial connections between diverse forms of artistic expression in the artist’s body of work are given particular weight by the jury. The award consists of €25,000 in prize money and an exhibition in Lübeck.

GUIDELINES "Possehl Prizes for Art" 


Matt Mullican: Possehl Prize for International Art 2022

The American artist Matt Mullican (born in 1951) is a leading representative of what is known as the Pictures Generation, a group of artists who explored the impact of mass media images on everyday perception in the mid-1970s and so declared them to be an established element of their approach to art-making. By awarding Matt Mullican the jury has acknowledged his life’s work, which continues to have a strong influence on younger generations of artists. continue


Doris Salcedo: Possehl Prize for International Art 2019

The Colombian artist Doris Salcedo (*1958) was awarded the first Possehl Prize for International Art in the Kunsthalle St. Annen at the opening ceremony for her exhibition there on 7 September 2019. In her objects, sculptures and site-specific installations, the internationally celebrated artist deals with the effects of violence and exclusion in her home country, Colombia, and other regions of the world. continue


Patronage of Lübeck artists 

The prize consists of €8,000 for the realisation of an artistic work. Any living artist for whom Lübeck is demonstrably the centre of their professional life (studio, workshop, alone or with others, etc.) may apply with a project for the Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art.

CALL FOR PROPOSALS “Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art 2021"


The prize-winners

Heinke Both: Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art 2021

This year the local prize goes to the artist Heinke Both (*1964), who combines painting, drawing, collage and photography in her pictures and ... continue


Sebastian Schröder: Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art 2020

In June 2020 Sebastian Schröder (*1981) became the well-deserved winner of the second Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art. continue


Janine Gerber: Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art 2018

In May 2018 the jury members from internationally renowned art galleries and museums met to award the first Possehl Art Prizes. They chose Janine Gerber (*1974) as the first winner of the Possehl Prize for Lübeck Art. continue 

A meeting between two Possehl Prize winners: Max Schön with Janine Gerber and Doris Salcedo (2019)

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Possehl-Preise für Kunst

Seit 2018 stellen zwei neue Possehl-Preise zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler in den Fokus: Vor zwei Jahren wurde erstmalig der Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst vergeben, seit 2019 vergibt die Stiftung – im Rhythmus von drei Jahren – den Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst. In den Jahren, in denen der Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst nicht vergeben wird, wird auf lokaler Ebene der Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst vergeben. Beide Kunstpreise werden durch dieselbe Jury ermittelt, deren Mitglieder international bekannten Kunsthäusern angehören.

Jurymitglieder (2020-2023):

  • Adam Budak (Kestner Gesellschaft Hannover, Direktor)
  • Fanni Fetzer (Kunstmuseum Luzern, Direktorin)
  • Dr. Renate Wiehager (Daimler Art Collection, Berlin/Stuttgart, Leiterin)
  • Dr. Antje-Britt Mählmann (Museum Schloss Moyland, Künstlerische Direktorin)
  • Dr. Oliver Zybok (Overbeck-Gesellschaft, Direktor)
  • Max Schön (Possehl-Stiftung, Vorsitzender; Jurymitglied ohne Stimmrecht)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Wißkirchen (Kulturstiftung der Hansestadt Lübeck, Direktor; Jurymitglied ohne Stimmrecht)

1) Internationale Künstler:innen in Lübeck

Mit dem Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst zeichnet die Possehl-Stiftung lebende Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit nationalem und internationalem Renommee für ihr Lebenswerk oder eine herausragende Arbeit beziehungsweise Werkgruppe aus. Seit 2019 wird dieser alle drei Jahre vergeben. Die Wahl einer Kandidatin/eines Kandidaten durch die Jury erfolgt aus zwölf Vorschlägen eines – ebenso international besetzten – Auswahlgremiums. Für die Würdigung stehen eine außerordentliche künstlerische Auseinandersetzung und eine mindestens über ein Jahrzehnt hinaus andauernde kontinuierliche Leistung im Vordergrund, die eine besondere Anerkennung verdienen. Der Preis wird innerhalb der Sparten Skulptur, Installation, Neue Medien und Performance sowie Formen des künstlerischen Aktionismus im Nominierungsverfahren vergeben. Intermediale Bezüge vielfältiger künstlerischer Ausdrucksformen im Gesamtwerk werden verstärkt bei einer Preisvergabe berücksichtigt. Die Auszeichnung umfasst ein Preisgeld von 25.000,- Euro sowie die Ausrichtung einer Ausstellung in Lübeck.

RICHTLINIE "Possehl-Preise für Kunst"


Matt Mullican: Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst 2022

Mit Matt Mullican (*1951) wird einer der wegweisenden Vertreter der so genannten Pictures Generation geehrt, die Mitte der 1970er Jahre den Einfluss massenmedialer Bilder in der alltäglichen Wahrnehmung untersuchten und sie somit als festen Bestandteil künstlerischer Auseinandersetzungen deklarierten.  weiterlesen


Doris Salcedo: Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst 2019

Der kolumbianischen Künstlerin Doris Salcedo (*1958) wurde 2019 der erste Possehl-Preis für Internationale Kunst verliehen. Die international renommierte Künstlerin beschäftigt sich in Objekten, Skulpturen und großen ortsspezifischen Installationen mit den Auswirkungen von Gewalt und Ausgrenzung in ihrer Heimat Kolumbien und anderen Regionen der Welt. weiterlesen  


2) Förderung Lübecker Künstler:innen

Diese Auszeichnung sieht ein Preisgeld von 8.000,- Euro zur Realisierung einer künstlerischen Arbeit vor. Alle in Lübeck lebenden Künstler:innen, die in Lübeck ausgewiesener Weise ihren Arbeitsmittelpunkt haben (Atelier, Werkstatt, Gemeinschaftswerkstatt o.ä.), können sich mit einem Projekt für den Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst bewerben.

AUSSCHREIBUNG "Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst 2021"


Heinke Both: Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst 2021

2021 wurde der lokale Preis der Künstlerin Heinke Both (*1964) verliehen, die Malerei, Zeichnung, Collage und Fotografie in ihren Bildern zusammenführt. weiterlesen


Sebastian Schröder: Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst 2020

Im Juni 2020 konnte sich Sebastian Schröder (*1981) über die Verleihung des zweiten Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst freuen. weiterlesen


Janine Gerber: Possehl-Preis für Lübecker Kunst 2018

Im Mai 2018 tagte erstmals eine Jury mit Mitgliedern aus international bekannten Kunsthäusern zur Vergabe der Possehl-Kunstpreise. Janine Gerber (*1974) wurde die erste Preisträgerin des Possehl-Preises für Lübecker Kunst. weiterlesen 

Treffen zweier Possehl-Preisträgerinnen: Max Schön mit Janine Gerber und Doris Salcedo (2019)

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren